Qualifying for municipal elections in Blackshear, Patterson and Offerman will open Monday, August 19.

One Blackshear councilman says he won’t seek another term while council members in Patterson and Offerman intend to run again. Longtime Offerman Mayor Brenda Denison will seek another term.

Qualifying opens Monday, August 19 from 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. and ends Wednesday, August 21. Candidates for all municipal elections may qualify at the Board of Elections office, 312 Nichols Street, Blackshear.


Blackshear council members in Districts 1, 5 and 6 are up for election. Those seats are currently held by Keith Brooks (Dist. 1), Shawn Godwin (Dist. 5), and David Smith (Dist. 6).

Brooks was elected in 2015 after defeating former councilman Jerry Hollis in the only contested city race that year. Brooks will seek a second four-year term in November. Smith is completing his second term this year, but told The Times last week he doesn’t intend to run again.

“It’s time to let some younger people in there,” Smith says.

Godwin is filling the remainder of longtime councilman Jerry Dixon’s term. Dixon passed away earlier this year, and Godwin qualified unopposed for the seat in July. Godwin indicated earlier this year he would run for the Dist. 5 seat in November.

The qualifying fee for Blackshear City Council is $72.


Seats 1, 3 and 5 in Patterson are up for election. Those seats are currently held by Jake Echols, Chris Mock and Joan Teglas-Duplessis.

Echols is finishing his first two-year stint on the council after coming on board to replace Dedi Thomas when Thomas stepped down to run for mayor of Patterson. He told The Times last week he isn’t entirely decided, but will most likely seek another full term.

Mock will reportedly run for a second term on council and Teglas-Duplessis will seek a fourth term, she says.

Patterson’s qualifying fee is $36.


Offerman Mayor Brenda Denison is up for election this year. Denison, who has served as mayor since shortly after the city was re-chartered in 1996, intends to seek another term. The qualifying fee for her seat is $35.

Council Post 2 –Vanessa Cason, Post 4 – Fleming Milledge, and Post 6 – Annette Thorne are up for election as well.

Cason and Thorne are completing their third terms. They both intend to seek a fourth term on Offerman’s council.

Milledge, who has served since shortly after Offerman was re-chartered, will also seek another term on the council.

The qualifying fee for those seats is $25.

Qualifying fees are based on 3 percent of the salary for that particular district, seat or post and vary from city to city.

Early voting will be held Monday, October 14, through Friday, November 1, from 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. at 312 Nichols Street, Blackshear. The last day to register to vote in this election is October 7.

The polls will open on Election Day from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. at the Courthouse Annex on Nichols Street for Blackshear elections, at Eagle Station for Patterson, and city hall in Offerman for an election there.