community awards

Annual event will be held virtually via Facebook Live

Pierce County Chamber of Commerce will announce the much-anticipated community award winners at 7 p.m., tomorrow, April 1, via a Facebook Live ceremony on the Chamber’s social media page.

The online ceremony will mark the Chamber’s 66th annual meeting and awards program.

Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Angela Manders encourages locals to like and follow “PierceCounty Chamber” on Facebook ahead of the live announcement.

Awards to be announced include: 2020 Farmer of the Year, Huel P. Walker Educator of the Year, Leona Dixon Bright Spot Award, S. Dow Nimmer Award, Dr. Katherine Hendry Community Health Award, Business Leader of the Year and Citizen of the Year.

Leadership Pierce graduates will also be recognized during the virtual program.

The awards ceremony is being held virtually for the second year in a row due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The Chamber plans to hold an in-person gala next year.

The 2020 awards program is sponsored by Farmers & Builders Ace Home Center, PrimeSouth Blackshear, The Heritage Bank, Hospice Satilla, ATC Broadband, Satilla Bluffs Senior Care, Satilla REMC and Georgia Power.

For more information contact the Chamber of Commerce at 912-449-7044.