petition application verified

Petitioners seeking Councilman Godwin’s recall have 30 days to obtain signatures

An application for a recall petition for Blackshear Councilman Shawn Godwin (District Five) has been verified.

Elections Supt. Leah Ritch confirmed her office verified the required number of signatures for the application submitted by District Five resident Sharon Komanecky within five days as required by state law. Ritch completed the verification process by the close of business Tuesday, August 11.

“I verified they had sufficient numbers,” Ritch says.

The law requires 10 percent of registered voters living in Godwin’s district sign the application for a recall petition. Komanecky needed 30 verified signatures to meet that threshold. She submitted an application bearing 33 signatures.

Ritch reported three signatures were disqualified, bringing Komanecky’s total to the exact required amount of 30 signatures. The individuals were disqualified from signing the application for the following reasons:

• One sponsor gave a business address rather than a residential address

• One sponsor was registered to vote in Godwin’s district at the time of his last election, but is now registered outside of District Five, and would not be eligible to vote in a recall election

• One sponsor lives on a road that falls on the district line. That sponsor’s address was not within District Five’s limits.

Komanecky was issued the recall petition Thursday. She will have 30 days from the day it was issued, until September 12, to obtain a minimum of 89 signatures. State law requires 30 percent of registered voters living in Godwin’s district must sign the petition for it to be certified.

Petitioners must live in District Five and have been registered to vote in that district when Godwin was last elected to office in November 2019.

Godwin took office in January 2020 to serve his first term in his own right. Godwin was previously filling the unexpired term of longtime Councilman Jerry Dixon who died in office in 2019. Godwin took office in August 2019 after qualifying unopposed in a July special election. He was challenged in November 2019 by Jeffrey Parr, but won the election to serve his first full term starting in 2020.